Realms of Being

Related Overviews

George Santayana (1863—1952) Spanish philosopher and writer


'Realms of Being' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

General title of a series of philosophical works by Santayana, to which Scepticism and Animal Faith (1923) serves as an introduction, while The Realm of Essence (1927), The Realm of Matter (1930), The Realm of Truth (1937), and The Realm of Spirit (1940) form the body. In these books, Santayana modifies and supplements his philosophy as expressed in The Life of Reason (1905–6).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.