Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(pl. regiōnēs), ancient term for the four major subdivisions of the extensive area covered by the republican city of Rome. Augustus (probably in 7 bc) divided Rome into fourteen regiōnēs (as he divided Italy into eleven) as a basis for allotting some administrative competences, such as the watch (vigiles). The building‐blocks of the new regiones were the vīcī or local units of the city population.

Subjects: Classical Studies.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.