Rhodes Scholarship

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Any of several scholarships awarded annually and tenable at Oxford University by students from certain Commonwealth countries, South Africa, the United States, and Germany. They are named after the British-born South African statesman Cecil Rhodes (1853–1902), who founded the scholarships in 1902. Rhodesia, the large territory in central southern Africa which was divided into Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia) and Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) was named after him.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.