Rowland Evans Robinson


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1833–1900), Vermont author, began in 1877 to write sketches on rural sports and the simple life he knew as a farmer. His first book, Forest and Stream Fables (1886), was followed by such collections as In New England Fields and Woods (1896), Hunting Without a Gun and Other Papers (1905), and Silver Fields and Other Sketches of a Farmer-Sportsman (1921). His appreciation of the scenery of his native state, understanding of the Vermont farmers and English-speaking French Canadians, and sensitive ear for their dialects made him an important writer in the local-color tradition. These qualities and his typical Down East humor and homely philosophy are best exhibited in his collections of fiction, including Uncle Lisha's Shop: Life in a Corner of Yankeeland (1887); Sam Lovel's Camps: Uncle Lisha's Friends Under Bark and Canvas (1889); Danvis Folks (1894); Uncle Lisha's Outing (1897); A Hero of Ticonderoga (1898); A Danvis Pioneer (1900), a story of the Green Mountain Boys; and Out of Bondage and Other Stories (1905). He also wrote Vermont: A Study of Independence (1892). The “Centennial Edition” of his works (7 vols., 1933–36) contains many formerly uncollected sketches and stories.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.