Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A series of Indian satellites. The 35-kg Rohini 1B experimental satellite was launched on 18 July 1980 from Sriharikota at Bengal Bay and re-entered the Earth's atmosphere on 20 May 1981. A previous satellite, Rohini 1A, had failed on 10 August 1979. India subsequently launched Rohini 2 on 31 May 1981, which stayed in orbit for eight days. Rohini 3 was launched on 17 April 1983 and orbited the Earth for seven years.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.