Roman Congregations

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The executive departments of the Roman Curia responsible for the central administration of the RC Church. They were established by Sixtus V in 1588. In the reorganization of 1967, nine congregations emerged, most of them with modified titles and redefined competence. After further changes there are again (since 1988) nine congregations, headed by the former Holy Office. See also Causes of Saints; Propaganda Fidei; and Rites, Congregation of Sacred.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.