treaty of Rome

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Two international agreements signed in Rome by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and the Federal Republic of Germany. They established the European Economic Community and Euratom (the European Atomic Energy Community). The treaties included provisions for the free movement of labour and capital between member countries, the abolition of customs barriers and cartels, and the fostering of common agricultural and trading policies. New members of the European Community are required to adhere to the terms of these treaties. The Maastricht Treaty was planned as a development of the Rome Treaties.

Subjects: History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.