Philip Roth

(b. 1933) American novelist and short-story writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1933– ),

novelist, born in New Jersey. His complex relationship with his Jewish background is reflected in most of his works. They include Goodbye, Columbus (1959, a novella with five short stories), Letting Go (1962), and a sequence of novels featuring Nathan Zuckerman, a Jewish novelist who has to learn to contend with success: My Life as a Man (1974), The Ghost Writer (1979), Zuckerman Unbound (1981), and The Anatomy Lesson (1983). Portnoy's Complaint (1969), which records its protagonist's confessions to his psychiatrist, is remembered as a succès de scandale, but Roth's later novels have greatly increased his reputation: these include The Counterlife (1987); Patrimony: A True Story (1991) about his father Herman Roth; and a trilogy narrated by Nathan Zuckerman: American Pastoral (1997), I Married A Communist (1998), and The Human Stain (2000), which explore issues of race politics and persecution in public and private life.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Philip Roth

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.