royal dockyards

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The generic name given to the naval dockyards of the Royal Navy, probably an abbreviation of Royal Naval Dockyard. In the early days of the British Navy there were five royal dockyards in Britain: Deptford, Woolwich, Chatham, Portsmouth, and Plymouth. As the navy grew in size and complexity, the dockyards at Deptford and Woolwich were closed down, though Deptford remained as the principal victualling yard, and further naval dockyards in Britain were established at Sheerness, Haulbowline in south-west Ireland, and Rosyth in Scotland. In the colonial era of British expansion, a number of naval (royal) dockyards were constructed in other parts of the world, the principal ones being at Gibraltar, Malta, Halifax, Bermuda, Simonstown, Trincomalee, Singapore, and Hong Kong.

Subjects: Maritime History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.