Royal Society of Edinburgh

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was established in 1783 for ‘the cultivation of every branch of science, erudition, and taste’. The membership was originally divided into the Physical Class and a larger Literary Class, the latter including A. Alison, Beattie, H. Blair, Burke, A. Carlyle, A. Ferguson, A. Gerard, J. Home, H. Mackenzie, T. Reid, W. Robertson (who was instrumental in the Society's creation), and Sir W. Scott (president 1820–32). Tennyson (1864) and T. Carlyle (1866) had honorary membership.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.