Royal Society of Literature

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was founded in 1823. The Associates were elected by the council of the Society (Malthus and S. T. Coleridge were among the first ten). The Society published papers read to it under the title Transactions; publication was suspended during the First World War and was resumed in 1921 as Essays by Divers Hands. The Society has Members, Fellows, and since 1961, Companions; recipients of the title of Companion have included Betjeman, Koestler, E. M. Forster, and Angus Wilson.

Subjects: Bibliography.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.