David Rudkin

(b. 1936)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1936– ),

playwright, born in London, the son of a Nonconformist minister, and educated at Oxford. He made his name with a powerful drama set in a rural district of the Black Country, Afore Night Come (1962); subsequent works, informed by a dark and passionate surreal mysticism, include Ashes (1974, pub. 1977), Penda's Fen (TV 1974, pub. 1975), Sons of Light (1976), The Triumph of Death (1981), Space Invaders (1983), and The Saxon Shore (1986).

Subjects: Literature — Theatre.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by David Rudkin

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.