treaty of Ryswick

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The treaty that ended the Nine Years War. Louis XIV agreed to recognize William III as King of England, give up his attempts to control Cologne and the Palatinate, end French occupation of Lorraine, and restore Luxembourg, Mons, Courtrai, and Barcelona to Spain. The Dutch were allowed to garrison a series of fortresses in the Spanish Netherlands as a barrier against France. Strasburg and some towns of Lower Alsace were the only acquisitions made since the Treaty of Nijmegen that France retained.

Subjects: History — Warfare and Defence.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.