San Francisco Symphony Orchestra

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded 1911 under sponsorship of Mus. Assoc. of San Francisco. Conds.: Henry Hadley 1911–15; Alfred Hertz 1915–29; Basil Cameron and Issay Dobrowen 1930–2; Dobrowen 1932–4; Pierre Monteux 1935–52; Enrique Jorda 1954–63; Josef Krips 1963–70; Seiji Ozawa 1970–6; Edo de Waart 1977–85; Herbert Blomstedt 1985–95 (Salzburg Fest. 1990); Michael Tilson Thomas from 1995. Since 1980 has played in Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.