Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Term in Hindustani music for the musical octave, consisting of seven (sapta) svaras Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, and Ni. The corresponding term in Karnatik music is sthāyi.

As ...

Subjects: Indian Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.