Vernon Scannell

(1922—2007) poet and novelist

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet. His first volume of verse, Graves and Resurrections (1948), was followed by several others including The Masks of Love (1960), A Sense of Danger (1962), The Loving Game (1975), New and Collected Poems 1950–1980 (1980), Dangerous Ones (1991), A Time for Fire (1991), and Of Love and War: New and Selected Poems (2002). Many of the poems combine informal colloquial language and domestic subjects with a sense of underlying violence. He also wrote several novels and an autobiography, The Tiger and the Rose (1971).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.