Claus Schall


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Copenhagen, 28 Apr. 1757; d Copenhagen, 9 Aug. 1835)

Danish composer, dancer, and violinist. He became a dancer with the Royal Danish Ballet in 1772, and in 1775 conductor of ballet music and repetiteur. In 1795 he was made composer for the ballet and in 1818 music director of the Opera. He composed many ballet scores, mostly for Galeotti, including Laurette (1785), Lagetha (1801), Romeo and Juliet (1811), and Macbeth (1816).

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.