seven Deadly Sins

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Usually given as Pride, Envy, Anger, Sloth, Covetousness, Gluttony, and Lust; frequently personified in medieval literature, e.g. Piers Plowman, B, Passus V; Dunbar's ‘The Dance of the Sevin Deidly Synnis’; Chaucer's ‘Parson's Tale’ (Canterbury Tales, 24); and in Spenser's Faerie Queene. They provide one of the organizing structures for Dante's Inferno and Purgatorio.

Subjects: Literary Studies (Early and Medieval).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.