seven Sacraments

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Extreme Unction, Orders, and Matrimony. It was through the Sentences of Peter Lombard (c.1150) that the belief gained credence that these seven sacraments constituted a set different in kind from all other religious rites. Their sevenfold number was defined at the Council of Trent and is also generally accepted in the E. Church.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.