William Sharp

(1855—1905) novelist and mystic

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


wrote under his own name essays, verse, minor novels, and Lives of D. G. Rossetti (1882), Shelley (1887), and R. Browning (1890). He is chiefly remembered for his mystic Celtic tales and romances of peasant life by ‘Fiona Macleod’ written in the manner of the ‘Celtic Twilight' movement. These include Pharais (1893), The Mountain Lovers (1895), The Sin Eater (1895), and several plays.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.