Wilfrid Sheed

(b. 1930)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


English-born, Oxford-educated author, came to the U.S. (1947), has long been a resident of New York City. His humorous satirical novels include A Middle Class Education (1961), about a student at Oxford who comes on a scholarship to the U.S.; The Hack (1963), presenting a writer of inspirational verse and fiction for American Catholic journals; Square's Progress (1965), depicting an easygoing middle-class American who becomes a hippie; Office Politics (1966); The Blacking Factory and Pennsylvania Gothic (1968), a short novel and a long story; Max Jamison (1970), characterizing a journalistic drama critic; People Will Always Be Kind (1973), about an Irish-American's rise in politics; and Transatlantic Blues (1978), tracing an American at Oxford who goes on to become a television personality. Other writings include The Morning After (1971) and The Good Word and Other Words (1979), essays; Three Mobs: Labor, Church and Mafia (1974); and Muhammad Ali (1975) and Clare Boothe Luce (1982), biographies.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.