Irwin Shaw


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Brooklyn-born writer whose works are marked by dramatic intensity and social awareness. His novels are The Young Lions (1948), tracing the fortunes of two American soldiers, one a Jew, the other a Gentile, and of the Nazi who kills the first and is killed by the second; The Troubled Air (1951), about radio actors harried by flimsy charges of Communist sympathies; Lucy Crown (1956), about a middle-aged woman's romance; Two Weeks in Another Town (1960); Voices of a Summer Day (1965), a middle-aged man's bittersweet memories; Rich Man, Poor Man (1970), the stories of two brothers and their sister set against the world scene from the 1940s to 1970; Evening in Byzantium (1973), portraying an aging Hollywood producer; Nightwork (1975), a lively depiction of a sophisticated international confidence man; Beggarman, Thief (1977), a melodramatic sequel to Rich Man, Poor Man; The Top of the Hill (1979), about a successful businessman trying to find himself; Bread Upon the Waters (1981); and Acceptable Losses (1982). Sailor Off the Bremen (1939), Welcome to the City (1941), Act of Faith (1946), Mixed Faith (1950), Tip on a Dead Jockey (1957), Love on a Dark Street (1965), God Was Here But He Left Early (1973), and Five Decades (1978) collect stories. He wrote several plays before he became known as a novelist.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Irwin Shaw

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.