Sheldon somatotype classification

'Sheldon somatotype classification' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Sports and Exercise Medicine


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The classification of body types into three basic types: endomorphy (roundness), mesomorphy (muscularity), and ectomorphy (linearity). Sheldon based his classification on thousands of photographs of naked individuals taken from three different perspectives. From these photographs, measurements were taken and each individual ascribed a three-number classification. Each number has a value from one to seven designating the amount each component contributes to the individual's physique: one represents the least contribution and seven the most. The first number represents the amount of endomorphy, the second number the amount of mesomorphy, and the third number the amount of ectomorphy. Thus, 7–1–1, represents extreme endomorphy; 1–7–1, extreme mesomorphy; and 1–1–7, extreme ectomorphy.

Subjects: Sports and Exercise Medicine.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.