Nan Shepherd

(1893—1981) author and college teacher

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1893–1981) Scottish novelist and nature writer brought up in Deeside and educated at the University of Aberdeen. The Quarry Wood (1928), a wryly realistic Bildungsroman, and The Weatherhouse (1930), a complex, polyphonic variation on the novel of rural community, are distinguished by Shepherd's superb ear for Scottish speech and by an anti-romantic acknowledgement of the constriction of women's lives. Published belatedly in 1977, The Living Mountain combines lyricism and science in its meditation on the Grampians and how they have been perceived.

From The Oxford Companion to English Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.