Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Jap., ‘four kalpas’).

The four periods of change in Japanese Buddhism: (i)jōkō, kalpa of creation; (ii)jūkō, kalpa of continuing existence; (iii)ekō, kalpa of destruction; (iv)kūgō, kalpa of destruction.


Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.