single-level tests

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

As part of the personalized learning initiative, Standard Tasks (SATs) are being replaced by single‐level, teacher‐assessed tests for 7–14‐year‐olds, which will be applied, within limited parameters, according to pupil readiness rather than at a specified age. This development is presented as a response to concerns expressed by parents and teachers at the pressure imposed on children by the continued application of SATs. The revised approach, piloted under the title Making Good Progress, requires pupils in Key Stages 2 and 3 to take tests of 50 minutes' duration in reading, writing, and mathematics. The tests operate twice a year so that teachers have a degree of flexibility to enter pupils when they believe they are able to attain a specified level. Unlike national curriculum tests, in which the pupil has only to reach the grade's threshold in order to be awarded the grade, the revised tests require pupils to demonstrate that they have securely reached each level before the grade will be awarded. Under this single‐level testing system, pupils making slow progress in English or mathematics receive one‐to‐one tutoring in those subjects. Schools will receive funding bonuses for successful results, and will work to targets aimed at increasing the number of pupils who progress through two levels in one key stage.

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.