Osbert Sitwell

(1892—1969) writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


brother of Edith and Sacheverell Sitwell. He reluctantly served in the First World War, and his early poetry (e.g. The Winstonburg Line, 1919) is sharply satirical and pacifist in tone. He produced many volumes of poetry, fiction, and autobiography, and was, with his brother and sister, an outspoken enemy of the Georgian poets and an ardent supporter of Pound, T. Eliot, W. Lewis, and W. Walton (for whose Belshazzar's Feast, 1931, he wrote the words). His prose works include Triple Fugue (1924), a collection of satirical stories; Before the Bombardment (1926), a novel describing the shelling of Scarborough in 1914; Winters of Content (1932), describing travels in Italy; and Escape with me! (1939), describing travels in China and the Far East. His most sustained achievement was his autobiography, in five volumes (Left Hand! Right Hand!, 1945; The Scarlet Tree, 1946; Great Morning!, 1948; Laughter in the Next Room, 1949; Noble Essences, 1950: with a later addition, Tales My Father Taught Me, 1962). These are remarkable for the portrait of the eccentric, exasperating figure of his father, Sir George.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.