Slouching Towards Bethlehem

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Collection of essays by Joan Didion, published in 1968. The title derives from a poem by Yeats that includes the line “Things fall apart; the center cannot hold.” The pieces, reprinted from journals, fall into three groups: “Life Styles in the Golden Land,” on California; “Personals,” about herself; and “Seven Places of the Mind,” about places significant in her experiences.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Joan Didion (b. 1934)

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.