Iain Crichton Smith

(1928—1998) poet and writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet, born into a Gaelic‐speaking family on the Isle of Lewis, and educated at the University of Aberdeen. His first volume of poetry, The Long River (1955), was followed by others, including The White Noon (1959), Thistles and Roses (1961), Deer on the High Hills (1962), The Law and the Grace (1965), Hamlet in Autumn (1972), The Emigrants (1983, translated from the author's own Gaelic), A Life (1986, a biography in verse), and The Village and Other Poems (1989); his Collected Poems was published in 1992. His work celebrates landscape and place (Aberdeen, Oban, Edinburgh, the Highlands and ‘bare Lewis without tree or branch’), writers and painters, and the often constrained and difficult lives of his fellow Scots with a strangely lyrical tone of stoic irony.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.