Social Charter

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The European Social Charter of 1989 was a ‘solemn declaration’ that listed twelve fundamental social rights. These included freedom of movement, fair wages, social security, freedom of association and collective bargaining, health and safety, and equal treatment of men and women (see equal opportunity). The Charter itself had no legal force but was rather an expression of the normative standards to which the member states of the European Community were committed. It did give rise to an Action Plan, however, and a number of directives were subsequently adopted in the fields of health and safety and working time. The UK Conservative government refused to endorse the Charter, but it was finally accepted ten years after the Charter's inception, following the election of a Labour government in 1997. [See also Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union.]

Subjects: Human Resource Management — Politics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.