Society for Psychical Research

Related Overviews

Frederic William Henry Myers (1843—1901) psychical researcher and essayist

Arthur James Balfour (1848—1930) prime minister and philosopher

Helena Petrovna Blavatsky (1831—1891) founder of theosophy

Henry Sidgwick (1838—1900) philosopher

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A body founded in 1882 by F. W. H. Myers, H. Sidgwick, and others. The Society, in a period of intense interest in spiritualism and the supernatural, investigated with high standards of scientific detachment such matters as telepathy, apparitions, etc. Its presidents have included A. J. Balfour, W. James, and Sir Oliver Lodge (1851–1940). Members and associates have included Ruskin, Tennyson, Gladstone, and A. R. Wallace.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.