South Pacific Community

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An international organization founded in 1947 as the South Pacific Commmission (SPC) by Australia, New Zealand, Britain, France, the Netherlands, and the USA, to coordinate programmes of economic development and social welfare for states of the South Pacific. The Netherlands withdrew in 1962, and Britain in 1996. In 1998, the SPC changed its name to the South Pacific Community. Sixty years after its foundation, it was composed of 26 members. Its aim was to promote cooperation amongst its members in the areas of fisheries, agriculture, health, community education, and socio‐economic and statistical services.http://www.spc.intThe home page of the South Pacific Community.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.