specific nerve energies

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The doctrine formulated in 1826 by the German physiologist Johannes Peter Müller (1801–58), elaborated by him in 1838, and later firmly established by research, that the qualitative differences between visual, auditory, tactile, olfactory, and gustatory sensations are determined by the particular sensory receptors that are stimulated.

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.