spiritual works of mercy

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Traditionally there are seven: converting the sinner; instructing the ignorant; counselling the doubtful; comforting the sorrowful; bearing wrongs patiently; forgiving injuries; praying for the living and the dead. See also corporal works of mercy.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.