Standard Grades

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Scotland's educational qualifications for students aged around 14–16 years. Standard Grade courses are taken over the third and fourth years of a student's secondary schooling. Students will typically study seven to nine subjects at Standard Grade. The Standard Grade replaced the Scottish Ordinary Grade in the early 1990s. It is broadly equivalent to the General Certificate of Secondary Education qualification taken in other parts of the UK.

S. M.

Susan Meggett

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.