Patric Standford

(b. 1939)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Barnsley, 1939).

Eng. composer. Awarded Mendelssohn Schol. 1964 and went to It. to study with Malipiero and Lutosławski, 1964–5. Prof. of comp. GSMD 1967–80; also taught at Goldsmiths' Coll and Chetham's Sch. of Mus., Manchester. Dir. of Mus. Sch., Bretton Hall Coll. (Univ. of Leeds), Wakefield, 1980–93. Awarded City of Geneva's Ansermet Prize 1983 for his 3rd Sym. Works incl. Villon, opera (1972–84); 5 syms. (1971–84); concs.: vc. (1974), vn. (1975); pf. (1979); Stabat Mater (1966); 3 str. qts. (1964, 1973, 1992); pf. qt. (1988); 3 Nocturnes, pf. (1991); A Jersey Suite, orch. (1994); A Prayer of St Francis, ch., orch. (1997); Concertino, hpd., small orch. (1999); The Winged Messenger, ob. (2001); Symphonic Scherzo ‘Mozartiana’, orch. (2005); Serenata, 2 gui., cl., vn., va. (2006).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.