Freya Stark

(1893—1993) writer and traveller

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


whose many books on her travels in Iran, Iraq, southern Arabia, and Asia Minor include The Valleys of the Assassins (1934), The Southern Gates of Arabia (1936), Iona: A Quest (1954), and The Lycian Shore (1956). Four volumes of autobiography, including Traveller's Prelude (1950), and six volumes of letters appeared in 1950–61 and 1974–81. She was made a DBE in 1972.

Subjects: Literature — History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.