C. K. Stead

(b. 1932)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1932– ),

New Zealand poet, critic and novelist, born and brought up in Auckland, educated at the University of Auckland, where he became a professor of English. From the beginning, his poems were seen as highly intelligent and sophisticated, influenced by such Modernists as Pound. In 1964 he published both his own first volume of poems, Whether the Will is Free, and a critical book, The New Poetic: Yeats to Eliot. Stead covered similar ground but with renewed incisiveness and persuasiveness in Pound, Yeats, Eliot and the Modernist Movement (1986). Among his novels are All Visitors Ashore (1984), The Death of the Body (1986), and The Singing Whakapapa (1994), all of which show his characteristic mixing of New Zealand personal material with experimental techniques. Mansfield: A Novel (2004) is a fictional portrayal of Katherine Mansfield and her circle. My Name Was Judas (2006) is a novel based on the Christ story.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.