Wilbur Daniel Steele


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1886–1970), born in North Carolina and reared in Denver, is best known as a short-story writer whose plots are frequently set in New England and South Carolina, his later homes. His stories are collected in Land's End (1918), The Shame Dance (1923), Urkey Island (1926), Tower of Sand (1929), and other volumes. His novels include Storm (1914), Isles of the Blest (1924), Taboo (1925), Sound of Rowlocks (1938), and That Girl from Memphis (1945). Diamond Wedding (1950), Their Town (1952), and The Way to the Gold (1955) are set in the Far West. The Terrible Woman (1925) is a collection of one-act plays, and in collaboration with his wife, Norma Mitchell Steele, he wrote Post Road (1934) and Penny, full-length plays. With Anthony Brown he dramatized one of his stories as How Beautiful with Shoes (1935).

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.