J. I. M. Stewart

(1906—1994) literary scholar and novelist

Related Overviews

detective Fiction

Thomas Hardy (1840—1928) novelist and poet

Rudyard Kipling (1865—1936) writer and poet

James Joyce (1882—1941) writer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Edinburgh novelist and critic, under the pseudonym Michael Innes wrote many successful works of detective fiction beginning with Death at the President's Lodging (1936), which introduced his detective, John Appleby of Scotland Yard; they are rich in literary allusions and quotations. Under his own name he published a quintet of novels (1974–8) about Oxford with the collective title A Staircase in Surrey, beginning with The Gaudy. He also wrote critical works on Shakespeare, Joyce, Peacock, Kipling, Hardy, and others, and was the author of Eight Modern Writers (1963), a volume in The Oxford History of English Literature.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.