Ruth Suckow


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Iowa author, whose first novel, Country People (1924), is a strongly realistic study of three generations in a German–American family, the Kaetterhenrys, from their settlement in Iowa (1850) to their contemporary wealth and consequent loss of their original culture. The Odyssey of a Nice Girl (1925) tells of a young Iowa girl's struggle against the repressions of her family and the surrounding culture, and her eventual escape through marriage. Her subsequent fiction on the life of the region includes Iowa Interiors (1926), a collection of short stories published in England as People and Houses (1927); The Bonney Family (1928), a novel about a minister's household in the mean, unimaginative surroundings of a small Iowa town; Cora (1929), relating the Americanization of a German immigrant girl and her family; The Kramer Girls (1930), a novel; Children and Older People (1931), short stories; The Folks (1934), about the good but dull middle–class Fergusons; New Hope (1942), about a small–town minister; and The John Wood Case (1959), about the effects on others of an embezzlement by a respected citizen. Carry–Over (1936) collects Country People, The Bonney Family, and stories. Some Others and Myself (1952) includes stories and memoirs.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.