Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Usually translated as “chapter.” The Quran is divided into 114 surahs, arranged by descending length rather than chronological order. These were divided by early commentators into the Meccan and Medinan periods of Muhammad's ministry. The Meccan surahs are broadly universal, while the Medinan surahs were often revealed in response to specific situations faced by the early Muslim community.

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.