Harvey Swados


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Buffalo, educated at the University of Michigan, was author of the novels Out Went the Candle (1955), a study of modern America, treating an opportunistic self–made businessman who alienates his children by trying to mold them; False Coin (1959), dealing with the problem of the artist trying to preserve integrity in a commercial society; The Will (1963), about three very different brothers trying to get their own way as they struggle over an inheritance; Standing Fast (1970), recounting the experiences of a small group of dedicated Marxists; and Celebration (1975), depicting the relationship of a 90-year-old progressive educator and his radical grandson. On the Line (1957) collects stories about men on an auto assembly line; and other stories appear in Nights in the Gardens of Brooklyn (1961) and A Story for Teddy (1965). A Radical's America (1962) collects essays surveying America from a socialist point of view.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries