Sydney Symphony Orchestra

'Sydney Symphony Orchestra' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Orch. based in Sydney, NSW. Began in 1932 as broadcasting orch. (ABC) also giving public and schools concerts. Title of Sydney SO adopted permanently in 1945. First cond. Joseph Post. Prin. conds. since have incl. Joseph Post; Sir Eugene Goossens (1947–56); Nikolay Malko (1957–61); Dean Dixon (1963–7); Moshe Atzmon (1969–71); Willem van Otterloo (1973–8); Louis Frémaux (1979–81); Sir Charles Mackerras (1982–5); Zdeněk Mácal (1986); Stuart Challender (1987–91); Edo de Waart 1993–2003; Gianluigi Gelmetti from 2004. Gives over 160 concerts a year, mainly in Sydney Opera House Concert Hall.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.