Tales of My Landlord

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Four series of novels by Sir W. Scott: The Black Dwarf, Old Mortality (1st Series); The Heart of Midlothian (2nd Series); The Bride of Lammermoor, A Legend of Montrose (3rd Series); Count Robert of Paris, Castle Dangerous (4th Series). Jedediah Cleishbotham, schoolmaster and parish clerk of Gandercleugh, by a fiction of Scott, sold these tales to a publisher. They were supposed to be compiled by his assistant Peter Pattieson. The title of the series is a misnomer as Scott himself admitted, for the tales were not told by the landlord; nor did the landlord have any hand in them at all.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Sir Walter Scott (1771—1832) poet and novelist

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.