Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was the largest of Rome's Spanish provinces under the early empire. Its initial nucleus had been formed by the province originally (197 bc) called Nearer Spain, which had important silver mines at Carthago Nova. It grew in size as Rome advanced westwards in the 2nd cent. and reached its full extent at the end of the Cantabrian wars (19). Under Augustus (27) it came to be administered as an imperial province which comprised all of Iberia except for Baetica and Lusitania. The province was subdivided into seven conventus centred at Tarraco (the capital), Carthago Nova, Caesaraugusta, Clunia, Asturica, Bracara, and Lucus. By the reign of Vespasian the military garrison comprised one legion, which helped administer the major gold ‐mines in the territory of the Astures. This was the most culturally varied of the Spanish provinces. Its urban development was uneven, despite the creation of colonies (see colonization, roman) and municipia by Caesar and Augustus and the extension of the ius Latii by Vespasian. Tarraconensis was known for its fish‐pickle, wine, and fish.

Subjects: Classical Studies.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.