Peter Taylor


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Tennessee. His stories, which sensitively depict characters and situations of contemporary middle-class life in the South, appear in A Long Fourth (1948), The Widows of Thornton (1954), Happy Families Are All Alike (1959), Miss Leonora When Last Seen (1963), Collected Stories (1969), and In the Miro District (1977). A Woman of Means (1950) is a short novel, and Tennessee Day in St. Louis (1956), A Stand in the Mountains (1968), and Presences (1973) are plays. He has taught English and creative writing at the University of North Carolina (1946–67) and the University of Virginia (1967–).

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.