Emma Tennant

(b. 1937)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1937– ),

novelist, born in London but brought up largely in Scotland. She founded and edited the literary review Bananas. Her novels, which have been variously described as neo‐Gothic and magic realist, are written in a powerful poetic prose. They include Hotel de Dream (1976), The Bad Sister (1978), Wild Nights (1979), Alice Fell (1980), Woman Beware Woman (1983), A Wedding of Cousins (1988), Faustine (1992), and Tess (1993). Her sequels and alternative versions of canonical texts include Pemberley (1993), An Unequal Marriage (1994), and Pemberley Revisited (2005), continuations of Pride and Prejudice; Adele (2000), The French Dancer's Bastard (2006), and The Amazing Marriage (2006), based on Jane Eyre; and Heathcliff's Tale (2005) from Wuthering Heights.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.