Tenure of Office Act

Related Overviews

Andrew Johnson (1808—1875) American Democratic statesman, 17th President of the US 1865–9.


Edwin M. Stanton (1814—1869)

Abraham Lincoln (1809—1865) American Republican statesman

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Politics
  • Military History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


This statute resulted from a fear on the part of congressional Republicans that President Andrew Johnson, in the course of a bitter dispute over Reconstruction policy, would make sweeping ...

Subjects: Politics — Military History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.