Tharsis Montes

Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics


Quick Reference

A large upland region on Mars over 1800 km across, centred at +1° lat., 113 °W long.; also known as the Tharsis ridge. It includes the three giant volcanoes Ascraeus Mons, Pavonis Mons, and Arsia Mons, each of which rises to about 20 km high. Tharsis is over 9 km high at the bases of these volcanoes and reaches over 11 km high at Noctis Labyrinthus, a complex network of fractures at the western end of the Valles Marineris.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries